Reversed Tire Pressure?
cadillac ats forums cadillac ats forums
CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
Cadillac ATS Technical Discussion Forum Discussion, Reversed Tire Pressure? in Cadillac ATS Discussion Forums; Is it possible that incorrect tire pressure would mess with the AWD system? I have had a problem with my ...
  1. #1
    corona2515 is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): ATS
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1

    Reversed Tire Pressure?

    Is it possible that incorrect tire pressure would mess with the AWD system? I have had a problem with my AWD ATS (3000mi) shuttering while maintaining speed going up hills and I believe that I have found the issue. The diagram on the dash that displays tire pressure is reversed. As in... the front is really that rear. The correct pressures are shown on the On-star App but not in the actual car's dash. I figured it out while comparing the two.

    Today, I left the car running while inflating the rear tires, only to find out that the dash display showed the front pressure rising. Since taking delivery last month, I have been driving with about 32lbs in the back and 36 in the front. After correcting this today, the shuttering seems to be gone. Does anyone else have this issue on their dash display. In other words, the orientation of the vehicle on the dash display is that the front is facing right, however, the actual tire pressure on the right side is from the rear of the car. In the On-star app, the vehicle is facing left and the pressures read correctly.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    MoistCabbage's Avatar
    MoistCabbage is offline Cadillac Owners 10000+ Posts
    Automobile(s): Crimson 2001 Seville STS, 1990 Seville (RIP)
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    East Boston MA.
    Age
    26
    Posts
    18,542
    The tire pressure has nothing to do with the shuddering.

  4. #3
    Hoosier Daddy's Avatar
    Hoosier Daddy is offline Moderator
    Automobile(s): 2013 ATS Performance 2.0T M6
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Winchestertonfieldville, AZ
    Posts
    3,015

    Re: Reversed Tire Pressure?

    Quote Originally Posted by corona2515 View Post
    Is it possible that incorrect tire pressure would mess with the AWD system? I have had a problem with my AWD ATS (3000mi) shuttering while maintaining speed going up hills and I believe that I have found the issue. The diagram on the dash that displays tire pressure is reversed. As in... the front is really that rear. The correct pressures are shown on the On-star App but not in the actual car's dash. I figured it out while comparing the two.

    Today, I left the car running while inflating the rear tires, only to find out that the dash display showed the front pressure rising. Since taking delivery last month, I have been driving with about 32lbs in the back and 36 in the front. After correcting this today, the shuttering seems to be gone. Does anyone else have this issue on their dash display. In other words, the orientation of the vehicle on the dash display is that the front is facing right, however, the actual tire pressure on the right side is from the rear of the car. In the On-star app, the vehicle is facing left and the pressures read correctly.
    Don't know about the shuddering but doubt its related.

    But I am having a hard time understanding how the On* app has it right and the DIC doesn't (or vice versa). When you rotate the tires, the car has to be told the sensors moved to different corners, so its no surprise that the DIC could be wrong if whoever rotated the tires didn't re-register the sensors in their new location.

    But if the On* app says the sensors are at a different corner than the DIC does, it implies the app doesn't retrieve the corner info when it retrieves the pressure values. Which in turn implies you have to not just re-register the sensors in the car when you rotate but also have to have them re-registered in the app profile for your car! Even the worst CUE programmer couldn't make that mistake, so I am really interested in how the heck the On* app and the DIC can think the sensors are on different corners?!?

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Bookmarks

Cadillac Posting Rules

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Read about Lincoln | Buick | Kia Forte Forum
Need products for your Cadillac? Check out your options at the links below:

custom floor mats | Cadillac Chrome and Black Chrome Wheels | window tinting