My test drive
cadillac ats forums cadillac ats forums
CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes
Cadillac ATS General Discussion Forum Discussion, My test drive in Cadillac ATS Discussion Forums; First I'm a 33 year old professional who has driven many different cars including Toyotas, a Subaru Legacy, Acura TL, ...
    idmd is offline Cadillac Owners Member

My test drive

First I'm a 33 year old professional who has driven many different cars including Toyotas, a Subaru Legacy, Acura TL, Acura MDX, Audi A5 and a Volvo XC60 R-Design.

Really interested in Cadillac at the moment. I have multiple partners who drive CTS' and I've spent a bit of time in these cars. I think Cadillac has really dialed in exterior and interior styling. That's why I was surprised by the ATS. There's something very strange about its wheel size....seems too small and as a result it makes the entire rest of the car seem less sporty or even cheap.

I test drove the 3.6 AWD and while power was good I think a 6-speed trans at this point is a real set back. I liked everything else except the gauges in the dash. Anyone else think the half circle speedo looks like it should be in a '92 Buick? The XTS gauges are great but the ATS gauges need work IMHO.

One sticking point....I have 3 partners with Cadillacs, two current generation CTS and a last generation DTS. All three cars have spent an insane among of time in the shop. Leaky moonroof, two new transmissions, electrical bugs. With all the cars listed above I have never needed to bring them in for anything other than routine maintenance.

How has Cadillac improved quality?

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

gohawks63 is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): 2012 Black Diamond CTS-V Coupe, 2011 BMW X5 Premium
    Quote Originally Posted by idmd