93' Allante - Where to find an engine? Are they rebuildable?
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Cadillac Allante Forum Discussion, 93' Allante - Where to find an engine? Are they rebuildable? in Past Cadillac Vehicle Discussion; Hey all, I'm a mechanic, but not real familiar with the innards of the Northstar. Was driving around in my ...
    lastchanceservice is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): Allante

93' Allante - Where to find an engine? Are they rebuildable?

Hey all,

I'm a mechanic, but not real familiar with the innards of the Northstar. Was driving around in my Allante' and noticed it making a solid, deep knocking sound. A good friend who is "n* knowledgeable" listened to my car and informed me that the engine had a sleeve loose, and it was knocking into the head. I will verify that seems to be accurate, as it's making two taps every crankshaft rotation. He claims they are a disposable engine that were never meant to be rebuilt, unless you had a ton of money to sink into them. This engine was installed 100k ago, when the original engine failed at 194k appx. It died a death of "oil pressure low, stop engine." Supposedly a cam had failed (according to diagnostic paperwork from the Cadillac dealership.)

So, for a person on a *tight* budget, what are my options? Nobody seems to be willing to rebuild it, and those that are willing to do the machine work for me and I do the reassembly myself seem to be charging too much. Supposedly this Northstar is specific to this car as it has some different mechanical specs.... What to do?

Thanks, Bill S.

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements