1987 allante, am I an idiot?
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Cadillac Allante Forum Discussion, 1987 allante, am I an idiot? in Past Cadillac Vehicle Discussion; I am considering buying a 1987 allante for 5000. It seems to run well, but the electronic system seems to ...
    tomandcoach is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): none

1987 allante, am I an idiot?

I am considering buying a 1987 allante for 5000. It seems to run well, but the electronic system seems to lag, runs slow, but finally reports out. Is this car something I want to commte in. I am a teacher and would like a convertible but cannot afford major fixes. The body and top are in good shape, I worry about the elcetronics.

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

OffThaHorseCEO is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): 2004 Cadillac SRX V8 AWD, 1989 Cadillac Allanté: Pearl White

Re: 1987 allante, am I an idiot?

can you elaborate on the issues youre having with the electronics?

IMO an 87 for 5000 is asking too much unless it is in absolute pristine shape. no dings, no dents, speakers work leathers in good shape etc

thats only my opinion though

MountainMan is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 1991 Allante

For 5 grand I would try to get a phase 2. Won't be pristine, but most of the bugs are worked out. I would worry about the DIC not working correct and I would have the brakes checked.

Rich_M is offline Cadillac Owners Fanatic
    Automobile(s): 2002 Seville STS (Sold), 04 XLR, 87 Allante