Cadillac Owners Forum banner
2K views 10 replies 8 participants last post by  TommyAllante 
#1 ·
I asked this or something similar last year and only got 2 responses. Due to that, (one was pretty negative) I passed on a '93 with 63k.
Now I am sort of "looking" again, so I'll ask again.
Do you need to be rich or a mechanic to buy an Allante'? Or do you just need to be a rich mechanic? :histeric: I am neither! :crying2:
I have wanted an Allante' for 21 years now, although at this point, I would rather have a '91-'93 rather than an original. Thanks for any advice.

#2 ·
Your Question is to broad. What is rich? and what is a mechanic? I own a phase 1 Allante, and I am not "RICH" in that I don't vacation in the south of France, don't wear 1000 dollar suits, or a rolex and I can't go out and buy a new Cadillac XLR-V and pay cash for it. I am not a mechanic, but I am an avid do it your selfer, and can read and understand a service manual, therefore I do a lot of my own general maintenance on my cars, and I own more then one car ( not because the Allante isn't reliable, but because I like cars, although many may differ on that reliability point) Where Allante's seem unreasonably costly is that Most trim parts , and some break parts and a few transmission parts cost much more then most late 80's model American cars, and can be really tough to find.( these cars were, afterall, very limited production) Most mechanical stuff is about the same as any other late 80's Cadillac.

So, based on my experience, if you're not pretty handy with tools, and know your way agound a car, you do need to be able to spend several hundred dollars a pop whenever you need work on the car.. ( but this is true for any old car, or any car out of Warranty)