top pull down problem
Cadillac
 

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
Cadillac Allante Forum Discussion, top pull down problem in Past Cadillac Vehicle Discussion; I have been having problems with battery drain. I have put in a switch to shut off fuse #8 at ...
  1. #1
    Chuck Linzey is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): Cadillac Allante 1988
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Towson MD
    Age
    68
    Posts
    32

    top pull down problem

    I have been having problems with battery drain. I have put in a switch to shut off fuse #8 at night. I have been doing this for a few week and everything works well. Today I opened the cover for the top pulldown motor and found some sparks at the emergence release cable, I tried to attach the top but the motor kept recycling up and down. After a few min it stopped and I can not get it to work any more. I have not disconnected the battery yet ( so I am not certain if the breaker kicked or not) At this point I have unplugged the motor and left the top down( this is the first time in a year I tried to put the top up) The cable to the normal release is frayed and it looks loose but I should be able to adjust, Is their any way to check the motor ? If I remove can I bench test? What is the price of a new motor? the price of a complete assy? is it easy to replace just the motor? Anything else we should try?

  2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Chuck Linzey is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): Cadillac Allante 1988
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Towson MD
    Age
    68
    Posts
    32
    Thread Starter

    Re: top pull dow problem

    Added info after reading some on line info about ground I reconnected the motor. It now seem intermittent, cycled one time and locked down ok. I released and tried to lockdown again and motor would not run. Tried to reset but would not work. Pulled on motor and bracket (unscientific) and motor ran again. Ground line looks ok. The flapper on top moves freely but does not seem to do anything. My soft top is now up for the first time. I still think this might be my elec problem.
    We need a spell checker option on this site

  4. #3
    Stealth's Avatar
    Stealth is offline Cadillac Owners Enthusiast
    Automobile(s): Is one enough ?
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    So CA
    Posts
    659

    Re: top pull dow problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Chuck Linzey View Post
    We need a spell checker option on this site
    use FIREFOX, it is built in ...

  5. #4
    Allantesource is offline Cadillac Owners Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    West Palm Beach, FL.
    Posts
    188

    Re: top pull dow problem

    If pulling fuse 8 takes care of the battery drain, then the problem is probably a lock cylinder switch on the back of one of your outside key lock cylinders. This switch normally send wakeup voltage to the BCM when you unlock the car. But if it fails on, the voltage is constantly on, and this will result in a 2-3 day battery drain. I am having a little trouble following what's going on with your rear pulldown. You can call us at 561-844-3938 to discuss and we'll see if we can help you through it.

  6. #5
    rickko's Avatar
    rickko is offline Cadillac Owners Fanatic
    Automobile(s): '97 STS, '06 DTS Performance, '04 Vette
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Age
    68
    Posts
    203

    Re: top pull dow problem

    Here is a link that might help you understand the pull down motor and its components.

    http://dana60.com/rickko/allante/pulldown/

  7. #6
    Chuck Linzey is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): Cadillac Allante 1988
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Towson MD
    Age
    68
    Posts
    32
    Thread Starter

    Re: top pull dow problem

    You don't have permission to access /rickko/allante/pulldown/ on this server.
    tried to connect

  8. #7
    rickko's Avatar
    rickko is offline Cadillac Owners Fanatic
    Automobile(s): '97 STS, '06 DTS Performance, '04 Vette
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Age
    68
    Posts
    203

    Re: top pull dow problem

    Oops, the server seems to be down. Actually, there has been some work done to it, possibly an upgrade, and now those files are missing.

    I've contacted the sysmgr. We'll see if they are recovered in the next few days. If no joy by Wednesday, email me again and I'll figure out how to get the info to you or make it available again.

    Thanks for letting me know.
    ..rickko..

  9. #8
    jono6406 is offline Banned
    Automobile(s): 2005 Cadillac STS4 ISG PKG
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    tampa, florida
    Age
    64
    Posts
    205

    Re: top pull dow problem

    ah, i think i found my problem.it was due to ignorance(lack of knowledge).in my owners manual page 105,it's right there in my face.i was not operating the pull down switch under the cover lid. i will put it to test this weekend when the top comes back from the painter. thanks all.

  10. #9
    rickko's Avatar
    rickko is offline Cadillac Owners Fanatic
    Automobile(s): '97 STS, '06 DTS Performance, '04 Vette
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Age
    68
    Posts
    203

    Re: Top pull dow problem

    Here is the correct link:

    http://dana60.com/rickko/allante/pulldown/Pulldown.html

    I don't know how to edit my original post. It seems once you post you can't edit it, right? Oh well

    ..rickko..

  11. #10
    ICEBLUE89 is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): Cadillac
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: top pull dow problem

    I had ordered the housing via the part number you gave, but it's the wrong one! In looking up that part number on GM direst it comes up as the truck housing. Do you have the right part number the top pull-down housing?
    Monte

  12. #11
    rickko's Avatar
    rickko is offline Cadillac Owners Fanatic
    Automobile(s): '97 STS, '06 DTS Performance, '04 Vette
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Age
    68
    Posts
    203

    Re: top pull dow problem

    I don't see "Truck" housing in this search results. Don't know why you do.



    Sorry, I don't have my parts book any longer but I do know if you go to any GM dealership they can look it up for you. Take the part number I listed and ask them if its the right one for what you want.

    ..rickko..

  13. #12
    c5 rv's Avatar
    c5 rv is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): 91 Allante (gone), 06 SRX (gone)
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    4,398

    Re: top pull dow problem

    Rickko, do you still have a link with the pics? My convertible pulldown has decided to stop rising.

  14. #13
    rickko's Avatar
    rickko is offline Cadillac Owners Fanatic
    Automobile(s): '97 STS, '06 DTS Performance, '04 Vette
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Age
    68
    Posts
    203

    Re: top pull dow problem

    Here is the link, Good luck!

    http://dana60.com/rickko/allante/pulldown/Pulldown.html

    ..rickko..

  15. #14
    c5 rv's Avatar
    c5 rv is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): 91 Allante (gone), 06 SRX (gone)
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    4,398

    Re: top pull dow problem

    I'm not seeing any pics.

  16. #15
    rickko's Avatar
    rickko is offline Cadillac Owners Fanatic
    Automobile(s): '97 STS, '06 DTS Performance, '04 Vette
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Age
    68
    Posts
    203

    Re: top pull dow problem

    I do. Try another browser. I use Firefox. Even though, I see pics using IE 7 as well.

    Do you see the text?

    ..rickko..

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Bookmarks

Cadillac Posting Rules

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Read about Lincoln | Buick | Kia Forte Forum
Need products for your Cadillac? Check out your options at the links below:

custom floor mats | Cadillac Chrome and Black Chrome Wheels | window tinting