500ci Identification. Casting #'s, etc.
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
500, 472, 425, 368 Discussion, 500ci Identification. Casting #'s, etc. in Cadillac Engine Technical Discussion; Hi everybody, I'm new to Cadillacs, but no stranger to cars in general. I'm really liking everything I read about ...
    GryphonGTR500 is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): none yet.

Question 500ci Identification. Casting #'s, etc.

Hi everybody,

I'm new to Cadillacs, but no stranger to cars in general. I'm really liking everything I read about the big-block Cadillac, especially the 500. My local pick-n-pull says they have a couple kicking around, but I want to make sure I don't get burned and end up with a 425 or worse, a 368. A 472 wouldn't be the end of the world, but I really want the 500.

Basically the title says it all. I searched for casting numbers and read the sticky posts, but couldn't find anything. Obviously, if it's coming out of a 70-76 eldo, it has to be a 500, right? I'm looking to get the whole engine and TH425 FWD tranny to swap into a mid-engined, rear drive hotrod. Any info is greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
    Tyler

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

The Ape Man is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): '80 Fleetwood Coupe, 1994 and 1995 Mercedes 140 Coupe

Re: 500ci Identification. Casting #'s, etc.