368 oil pan on a 472
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
500, 472, 425, 368 Discussion, 368 oil pan on a 472 in Cadillac Engine Technical Discussion; I'm going to install a 368 rear sump oil pan on a 472 so that I can stuff it in ...
    bobbyt is offline Cadillac Owners Member

368 oil pan on a 472

I'm going to install a 368 rear sump oil pan on a 472 so that I can stuff it in my 49 ford truck. I have heard rumors about the 368 pan hitting the crank on the 472. Does anyone have any experience with this? Is there anything else I should be aware of?

Thanks all
    Bobby

I worked as a mechanic for Cadillac back in the 80's, I was a driveability tech. The mid to late 80's were a bad time for Caddy (heck, it was a bad time for american cars in general). I always loved the big 472/500's, what a great engine. Super tough, super torque, comparatively lightweight, decent economy, how can you go wrong?

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

lux hauler is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur

Re: 368 oil pan on a 472

Quote Originally Posted by bobbyt
    I'm going to install a 368 rear sump oil pan on a 472 so that I can stuff it in my 49 ford truck. I have heard rumors about the 368 pan hitting the crank on the 472. Does anyone have any experience with this? Is there anything else I should be aware of?

Thanks all
    Bobby