rebuild books
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
500, 472, 425, 368 Discussion, rebuild books in Cadillac Engine Technical Discussion; I'm hoping to start rebuilding my 472 in a few months. I've never done this before so I was hoping ...
    72HearseGuy is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 1972 fleetwood hearse

rebuild books

I'm hoping to start rebuilding my 472 in a few months. I've never done this before so I was hoping for some good reading material specifically for these engines. I've seen the big inch book on ebay, but is that good for stock rebuilds? Any other books out there? And I'll take any and all tips from people that have experience. Thanks.

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

deVille33 is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): 1977 Coupe (blue), 1977 Coupe (yellow), 1977 Coupe (green)

Re: rebuild books

If you can find any old High School Atuo Shop publications, sometimes found at yard sales, you will have an excellant guide to engine repair. Some use the Cadillac engine as an example, because Cadillac engines were supposed to have the most exacting specifications used in their engine plants. I have one of these somewhere and if I find it, will give you the details regarding this publication. Another source would be a Cadillac Service Manual, especially the ones published in the mid 1960's. The Service Manuals from this era had more details than later publications.

72HearseGuy is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 1972 fleetwood hearse

thanks

drmenard is offline Cadillac Owners Enthusiast
    Automobile(s): 95 fleetwood 81 deville