500 cu motor, what to do with it?
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
500, 472, 425, 368 Discussion, 500 cu motor, what to do with it? in Cadillac Engine Technical Discussion; hi, i am tasked with finding homes for a lot of things in my father's estate. Among these is what ...
    Cardboard Jedi Guest

500 cu motor, what to do with it?

hi, i am tasked with finding homes for a lot of things in my father's estate. Among these is what i believe to be a Cadillac 500 cubic inch motor, down here in Florida used in airboats among other things. i am not a mechanic. i know from memory very little about it other than my Dad was maybe going to wedge it in a hot rod years ago. it is old, dirty, and in need of the care only a gearhead can give. my plan as of now is to craigslist it. anybody know what i should price it at? ..or should i be thankful anyone would even come get it for free and haul it away? thanks all....

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

drmenard is offline Cadillac Owners Enthusiast
    Automobile(s): 95 fleetwood 81 deville

Re: 500 cu motor, what to do with it?

To really know what you have and get what it is worth you have to remove one rockerarm cover to get the casting number off the head and take off the oil pan to get the casting number off the crankshaft...then you will know if its a early or late , 472 or 500.... thats the only way to tell...

Cardboard Jedi Guest

thanks for that advice. i'll poke around

DixieChevrillac is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 1/2 Caddy

What part of Florida?