HEI shaft question
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
500, 472, 425, 368 Discussion, HEI shaft question in Cadillac Engine Technical Discussion; First off please excuse my ignorance on the topic, I'm new to classic cars. However I'm looking to upgrade my ...
    69Deville is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 1969 Cadillac Deville

HEI shaft question

First off please excuse my ignorance on the topic, I'm new to classic cars. However I'm looking to upgrade my point distributor to an HEI. I'm looking to get this one:

I realize there is going to be some minor modifications in terms of wires and such as I've read the many posts on that here. However I'm uncertain about that piece fitting. Do all distributors have the same shaft diameter and groove specs, as in there being a universal standard for distributor shafts and grooves? Will this HEI fit?

Edit: Should have been more specific, thats a summit racing HEI and I have a '69 Deville with a 472.

Thanks!

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

drmenard is offline Cadillac Owners Enthusiast
    Automobile(s): 95 fleetwood 81 deville

Re: HEI shaft question

That aftermarket distrubtor will work fine.. But it is expensive.. a used distrubtor from a 75-76 500 or 77-80 425-368 motor will fit and work just fine.