Switching to 1970 500 pistons in a 1973 500 engine?
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
500, 472, 425, 368 Discussion, Switching to 1970 500 pistons in a 1973 500 engine? in Cadillac Engine Technical Discussion; Ok so I am a recreational mechanic, IE I have rebuilt a few engines and so forth but have no ...
    jschlote is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 1968 Deville Convertible

Switching to 1970 500 pistons in a 1973 500 engine?

Ok so I am a recreational mechanic, IE I have rebuilt a few engines and so forth but have no formal schooling in mechanicry. I have basically learned as I have gone along.

But anyways here's my question, which could be a dumb one but I'mma ask anyways.

I just found a 73 500 v8 from an eldorado that I am considering putting in my 68 deville convertible. However before I put it in and since I already have the engine completely broken down I looked into the specs on the 70 eldo 500 and all the numbers match up: bore, stroke and the case/head/crank #'s so my question is can I just switch the pistons to the 70 eldo 500 pistons for the higher compression ratio and get the higher torque and hp?

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

Re: Switching to 1970 500 pistons in a 1973 500 engine?

as in would it really be just that simple, the rod lengths are listed as the same length in the websites I have found so I am assuming it is, however I thought I should check before I go blow 320 bucks on a set of new pistons since I have never really "tinkered" on an engine and played frankenstien with one to get more horse power.