Need timing help!!!!
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
500, 472, 425, 368 Discussion, Need timing help!!!! in Cadillac Engine Technical Discussion; 68 DeVille Hi, im still a begginner mechanic. What i did was change the timing chain and sprockets. I had ...
    JTraik is offline Cadillac Owners Enthusiast
    Automobile(s): '68 DeVille '95 FWB '99 Eldo '96 Cummins Ram 5MT

Need timing help!!!!

68 DeVille

Hi, im still a begginner mechanic. What i did was change the timing chain and sprockets. I had the new sprockets on there with the teeth with dots pointing directly at each other. Someone came over and he turned the crank shaft till the piston was up in the number one chamber then we put the distrib back on and had it pointing at the number one plug. I went to start it up today (and yesterday) and all it does is keep turning over and no firing. Now i took the air cleaner off and the carb was spitting out the vaporized gas, should it do that?

The same guy is coming over with a timing light. Did i do anything wrong or out of sequence here? thanks!

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

lux hauler is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur

Re: Need timing help!!!!

Assuming the timing chain and gears are installed correctly.......