Carburetor question
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
5.0 and 5.7 Discussion, Carburetor question in Cadillac Engine Technical Discussion; I have the '87 Brougham with the Rochester 4bbl. I am not a mechanic, so I am at the mercy ...
    ReagansRollsRoyce is offline Cadillac Owners Fanatic
    Automobile(s): 1987 Cadillac Fleetwood Brougham

Carburetor question

I have the '87 Brougham with the Rochester 4bbl. I am not a mechanic, so I am at the mercy of all service stations.

Story first, then 2 questions:

Story:
    A few months ago, the car started shaking in idle and hesitating at stoplights. I was told the carburetor needed to be rebuilt. It was rebuilt by a GM dealership.

For about 3 months, the car ran perfectly...seamless off the line, smooth as silk on the road. It was back to running like a RWD Cadillac again.

Then, last month, it started to shake and stall again. Having just moved to a new area, I brought it to the local Cadillac dealer. The report says he checked all vaccum lines, diagnosed Code 23 (Mixture Control Solenoid) and Code 56 (Exh. Rich) a defective Mixture Control Solenoid. He replaced the solenoid (and the TPS sensor--no cost, which he broke in the process) for $500 (with $90/hr labor, I really got hosed). The car stopped stalling but still hesitated, shook at idle, and developed a little highway shake too.