Cadillac Owners Forum banner

CTS-V - track prep questions / track wheels, R-Compound tires & AIM data acquistion

16K views 52 replies 20 participants last post by  soon to V 
#1 ·
CTS-V - track prep questions / track wheels, R-Compound tires & AIM data acquistion

I'm new to this forum and as my first post wanted to ask you guys some questions about track prepping a CTS-V wagon.

Some background... I'm a driving school instructor and club racer. I've just sold my race car (see link) and am contemplating getting a CTS-V wagon, which I'd like to use for the occasional track weekend.

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8311/8050277563_628b2cd18e_n.jpg

What do folks use for track wheels? I searched Tire Rack, but the search came up empty.

Same for tires? Hoosier (R6) and Hankook (Z214) sizing is very limited in 19"s. Would 18"s fit?

I have an AIM EVO4 data acquisition system that I could easily transplant. Does anybody use an AIM system connected to their OBDII port? I checked AIM's site and I can't find support for any Cadillac.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

See less See more
#2 ·
Re: CTS-V - track prep questions / track wheels, R-Compound tires & AIM data acquist

TSW nurburgrings 18x9.5 with 40mm offset. Light, strong and fit 275/35/18 R compounds with ease.

I'm using these with snows (graphite) and will swap on R compounds next year for track days :)

#4 ·
Thanks! What's the bolt pattern and do you use spacers? And do you guys run a square set up?

That's a very popular tire size with plenty of sticky options.

----------

One last question... I'd like to use PFC race pads - do you the PFC pad shape number for the stock calipers?

#9 ·
Re: CTS-V - track prep questions / track wheels, R-Compound tires & AIM data acquist

Hmmm... That's the same bolt pattern for a BMW M3. I wonder if the center bore is the same too. That would significantly expand the options.