Cadillac Owners Forum banner

CTS-V - track prep questions / track wheels, R-Compound tires & AIM data acquistion

16K views 52 replies 20 participants last post by  soon to V 
#1 ·
CTS-V - track prep questions / track wheels, R-Compound tires & AIM data acquistion

I'm new to this forum and as my first post wanted to ask you guys some questions about track prepping a CTS-V wagon.

Some background... I'm a driving school instructor and club racer. I've just sold my race car (see link) and am contemplating getting a CTS-V wagon, which I'd like to use for the occasional track weekend.

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8311/8050277563_628b2cd18e_n.jpg

What do folks use for track wheels? I searched Tire Rack, but the search came up empty.

Same for tires? Hoosier (R6) and Hankook (Z214) sizing is very limited in 19"s. Would 18"s fit?

I have an AIM EVO4 data acquisition system that I could easily transplant. Does anybody use an AIM system connected to their OBDII port? I checked AIM's site and I can't find support for any Cadillac.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

See less See more
#36 ·
Tire manufacturers don't cater to individual car setups...unless it is common. Like Miata, 911, 3 series...

They make sizes. The more common, the more the slicks match. You'll NEVER get enough V guys to make a limited run of slicks. But that hasn't stopped any of us from getting race rubber on our Vs...

#37 ·
Re: CTS-V - track prep questions / track wheels, R-Compound tires & AIM data acquist

Years ago, when I was running auto-x on a competitive level, they wanted their stickers on my car. I'm sure they would want their tires on a V. They may not even know what a V is, but once they know, hey, you never know what can happen. I do know, if you don't ask, it'll never happen.

TechSupport@KumhoTireUSA.com
info@hoosiertire.com

#38 ·