First Experience in a V-Wagon - Deployed Airbags
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes
2009-2014 Cadillac CTS-V General Discussion Discussion, First Experience in a V-Wagon - Deployed Airbags in Cadillac CTS-V Series Forum - 2009-2014; I was instructing a guy in his 2012 V-Wagon at a low speed precision driving event (Parkinglot, not a track). ...
    GTO_Miker is offline Cadillac Owners Member

First Experience in a V-Wagon - Deployed Airbags

I was instructing a guy in his 2012 V-Wagon at a low speed precision driving event (Parkinglot, not a track). I picked him to instruct because I have many years experience on track in C5/C6 Vettes, CTS-Vs, M3s, etc and have driven a couple V-coupes and v-4doors but never a wagon. He was new to high-hp cars so I had him put it in comp mode so the electronics were still active, and we put the suspension on sporty. His car is bone stock, down to OEM tires with OEM air in them.

So we go out and make it through every element with out any issue, but in the last little slalom (~25mph if that) he gave it a little to much gas the car steps out maybe 5-10degrees and boom, side curtain airbags fire and seatbelt pretentioners fire. In all my years I've never seen anything like it. I have ~8-10hours in CTS-Vs on track and never had anything odd happen then to to just have the airbags pop in a parking lot? Didn't hit a cone, didn't hit a bump in the road, nothing. Just a tiny slide on smooth blacktop.

I'm a tall dude so my helmet was resting on the A-pillar when the curtains fired, it ****ed my neck up good, I'm currently posting this in bed while recuperating.