Black Diamond paint more durable?
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
2009-2014 Cadillac CTS-V Appearance Mods Discussion, Black Diamond paint more durable? in Cadillac CTS-V Series Forum - 2009-2014; I'm not a paint expert but when they say the Black Diamond paint is a 'multi-step' process would that indicate ...
    keepupp is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 2014 XTS V-Sport

Black Diamond paint more durable?

I'm not a paint expert but when they say the Black Diamond paint is a 'multi-step' process would that indicate it has additional layers? I have a new Black Diamond Sedan on order to replace my recently water damaged 2011 Sedan. Any input on this from folks that understand the paint process is appreciated.

Regards

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

Caddy Wagon is offline Cadillac Owners Enthusiast
    Automobile(s): 11 CTS-V Wagon 6MT Crystal Red all options NO sunroof

Re: Black Diamond paint more durable?

From what I've read about it, the Black Diamond is not going to be any more durable than any of the other colors. It might take more scratching to get down to the metal (due to being a 3 stage paint), but the top coat is still going to get swirls, etc. the same as the rest.

Razorecko is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): 2009 CTS-V , 2010 SRX 2.8T

3 stage paints are considerably more durable. Not only that but any "pear effect / glitter " paints always hide swirls /defects better

Quote Originally Posted by Razorecko View Post