Cadillac Owners Forum banner

Gettiing ready to buy a used 08

7K views 59 replies 15 participants last post by  JCBCTS 
#1 ·
hey guys, I'm getting ready to buy a used 08 during inspection my mechanic found the following problem

engine rear main seal, valve cover gasket, rear: differential seal leaking

its not dripping alot (not into the ground) but if you swipe your finger on it you can tell, I'm a little worried, closing the deal in 2 day, is this a common problem? Checked carfax its clean, as in no accident.

test drive went fine also.

I also read somewhere that when the engine is hot, you shouldnt be checking for oil level because it could show a deficit, well when the mechanic took it for a test drive and came back he notice the oil was low. so my questions is, is it really low or because the engine is holding up the oil...sorry I'm not a mechanic, wish I understand what he was talking about.

#5 ·
jghiller said:
Always wait about 10 minutes or so after running hot before checking oil level. I think its even stated in the owners manual to wait a bit before checking oil.
From the owner's manual...

Checking Engine Oil

It is a good idea to check the engine oil level at each fuel fill.
In order to get an accurate reading, the vehicle must be on level ground. The engine oil dipstick handle is a yellow loop. See Engine
Compartment Overview on page 10-6 for the location of the engine oil dipstick.

1. If the engine has been running recently, turn off the engine and allow several minutes for the oil to drain back into the oil pan. Checking the oil level too soon after engine shutoff will not provide an accurate oil level reading. .

#6 ·