An introduction and a vehicle request
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
2008-2013 Cadillac CTS General Discussion Discussion, An introduction and a vehicle request in Cadillac CTS Second Generation Forum - 2008-2013; I figured I should probably introduce myself before I ask my first question. I work in the transportation industry primarily ...
    cb1111 is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): CTS Wagon

An introduction and a vehicle request

I figured I should probably introduce myself before I ask my first question.

I work in the transportation industry primarily on the legal/regulatory side. Over the last ten years, I've driven two Yukons, an Audi A6, an Audi S6, a GTI, an R32 and currently a 335ix.

My most reliable cars have been the S6 and the R32.

My least reliable - and the most fun to drive - is the BMW. in the last year, I've gone through two fuel pumps and a vanos solenoid. This engine has had an issue since the model intro in 2007 that they havent been able to fix.

It has never stranded me to date but I just got finished with a 1700 mild drive (in two days) and a few days afterwards I got a SES light accompanied bh longer than normal cranks - anindicator that the fuel pump isn't happy.

I've come to the conclusion that a reliable car, combined with a reasonable dealer experience is more important than bleeding edge technology.

So, my question:

How is the overall dealer experience? While there will obviously be extremes in both directions, is it safe to assume that most dealers are reasonable and willing to help? Are loaners generally available or are they a hassle to get.