Cadillac Owners Forum banner

Monster Stage 2 Clutch & 28lb Flywheel - Vibration in Clutch Pedal ?

6K views 27 replies 7 participants last post by  ctsv247 
#1 ·
I started this question in my other thread but decided to make a thread dedicated to it. Had a monster stage 2 clutch installed with the 28lb flywheel. Everything seems nice and smooth engagement and no more "clunk". I have noticed though that at the half-way point for the clutch pedal I get a vibration in the pedal. It almost feels like a buzzing or very fine vibration. If I hold the pedal half-way the vibration is constant. Seems to be only with mid to higher RPM's also. I'm new to the "single-mass" flywheel, so is this normal ?

#3 ·
I think you're over-analyzing due to being recently burned. I just had F1 LS7 clutch and 20lb lightweight flywheel installed. As lolly said, you can feel more of everything. The biggest change for me is being able to feel the pulsing of cylinder fire through the gas pedal. Not really feeling much different through the clutch pedal though.

The DM flywheel's very purpose of existence was to absorb vibrations. It's normal that you are experiencing more.

#5 ·
Hi BDV, I had a FAST 102 installed during the same session. I'm not sure whether it's the FAST or the lightweight flywheel, but the revs are really erratic when pushing the clutch in. The car needs to be tuned badly. Furthermore, I can't really stomp on it till the 500 mile break period is over. The current plan is to wait till the 500 miles are up, then go in and have it tuned. I'll really only be able to review it at that point.

I can tell you however that my builder/tuner thought all the parts looked good and said the install went really well. He did say that the "lightweight F1 chromoly" flywheel looked like an LS2 flywheel that had had 6 lbs drilled out of it.

#6 ·