Gto rear end on ctsv?
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Blown_Red_97z
2004-2007 Cadillac CTS-V Performance Mods Discussion, Gto rear end on ctsv? in Cadillac CTS-V Series Forum - 2004 - 2007; I'm new to the ctsv world but know the LS2 gto. So why didn't gm use the gto IRS on ...
    Blown_Red_97z is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 2006 CTSV

Gto rear end on ctsv?

I'm new to the ctsv world but know the LS2 gto. So why didn't gm use the gto IRS on the ctsv? The wheel hop issue was known on the gtos as well but we just used drag bags from speed inc and all was well. So why didn't gm just use a pretty proven rear on this car? Why do ctsv rears (diffs) grenade under wheel hop? That wasn't a known issue with the gtos just the axles spinning under 400+ rwhp. I'm not trying to bag on the ctsv I really like this car.
    sgtdestruction likes this.

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

PISNUOFF Guest

Re: Gto rear end on ctsv?

There are many reasons why they didn't use the Holden rear diff, most likely because they were designed by different engineers. You can put drag bags on the stock CTS-V rear springs. The V diff grenades because it over-angulates the pinion CV and the weakest part is the snout casing so it rips it off.

shadybx7 is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): 2005 Platinum CTS V-Headers+3in pipes