Cadillac Owners Forum banner

2005 LS6 Magnacharger Build Question

8K views 45 replies 10 participants last post by  RyRidesMotoX 
#1 ·
Upon buying my first V two weeks ago, I already have that bug to start modding. My plan is this next winter put the V in the garage and start tearing down for upgrades to rear end working my way forward.

One of the biggest questions I have is what heads to use with a forged bottom end and a Brute Speed Cam the will compliment a Magnacharger the best? I have read so many post about the stock heads and Maggie being a ineffecient combo because of the higher CR. Most people I talk to say go with LQ9 heads as they flow the same but will lower CR.

Obviously I am a newbie here and don't know a whole lot. What heads? And what valve springs etc would be best with the Brute Speed blower cam? I don't mind paying a good amount amount on heads if there is something out there that may be what I need/want. Also, would like to have roller rockers.

My other option which I have been eyeing for some time is maybe a Texas Speed Iron 408 and stay N/A. Worried about the extra weight of the iron block and compatibility to swap into my V. This car will only be street driven and drivability is important. Not worried about mpg. I want torque and lots of it!

I always try and search first before posting something but I am stumped on this one. Any help would be much appreciated.

See less See more
#2 ·
http://www.cadillacforums.com/forums...ficiently.html
This will search better than the forum search tool, Has helped me alot since learning of it a few days ago,
Also many people here have maggies so when clicking on threads you might see their mods in their signature block, and dyno numbers most of the time so look at their setups to see what you would like for your car,